Puffin sweater

I’ve recently completed my latest sweater project.  It’s the Kate Davies Puffin sweater from her Colours of Shetland book and I’ve been meaning to get it on my needles for a while.  I’ve been trying to lose weight for the last year and have lost about 4 stone so I was keen to try a more fitted style of sweater.  I’m still big (a size 16) with big boobs so I was interested to see how the fitted style would look and was a bit dubious that it would be unflattering.

1339787536_Puffin 01b

Anyway I needn’t have worried – the design is genius and the way the yoke pattern falls is actually really flattering to someone with a large bust – it makes my waist look much slimmer than it actually is too!  I made it with slight negative ease so it really shows off my curves without emphasising any flabby areas.

The beautiful chevron yoke - inspired by a puffins beak
The beautiful chevron yoke – inspired by a puffins beak

The jumper is knitted in Jamieson and Smith – one of my favourite yarns.  Although knitting with the finer wools takes longer I think it’s well worth the effort as the final jumper tends to be much more flattering to the figure than the more chunky weight yarns.

I cannot recommend this pattern enough.  Knitted in the round throughout from the bottom up.  The dark yarn was a bit of a strain on the eyes sometimes in this miserable February light and the garter stitch was a bit of a pain (all that purling in the round) but was well worth the final result.

So here’s the final result …. Ta dah!

20150210_133938

20150210_134025

Leave a Reply

