Ella Austin Knits

If you’re a knitting addict one of the results is the ever growing stash – mine is officially out of control and if I live to be a 110 there’s not enough hours in the day to knit it all.  This doesn’t stop me from buying more!

Anyway trying to use up my unfeasibly large stash I’m always on the lookout for little projects to use up the bits and bobs of yarn.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
Intrepid Fox – that’s a sheep heid hat in the background

Ella Austin from Bombella designs has some lovely little stranded animal patterns and kits.  I bought her fox kit at Yarndale a couple of years ago from Skein Queen and eventually got round to knitting it a few weeks ago.  It’s a fine silky yarn (a 4ply merino superwash). It’s a  beautiful yarn and I was very pleased with the result but did find it a wee bit fiddly.  He’s a dapper little chap.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
Intrepid Fox
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
Intrepid fox

 

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
Intrepid fox

 

I then bought her tawny owl pattern on Ravelry and that proved to be a satisfying little knit too – makes a change sometimes to knit something quick .. used some odds and sods of Jamiesons and Smith.   I started out knitting toys but now spend most of my time doing garments so made a nice change to see something beautiful and pointless fly off the needles.  I’ve got another dog pattern from the same designer that I bought too but not got around to doing that yet.  Can recommend her patterns – very well written and easy to follow.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
Tawny owl
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
Tawny owl

 

 

Leave a Reply

